top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarcos Riggs

System Design

Updated: Dec 7, 2022

Twine Game: Hungry Hungry Haru




(Hey, I've been having trouble sharing the game. Email me if you'd like a copy!)


Reflection:


The rationale behind 'HUNGRY HUNGRY HARU!'' was purely a creative venture. Once Dr. King introduced me to Twine with the fanmade Hunger Games story, I was immediately intrigued. The branching narrative alongwith with the freedom of the software allows for a range of effects that are able to be created within it.



Anybody with access to a computer coupled with the ability to click a button gets to use my game; however, I'm not sure if anyone will benefit from playing. I'm not sure if there's anyone in particular that gets left out of HUNGRY HUNGRY HARU. Accessibility is important. Since the game is built within the Twine software, it's much easier to access through a browser than through an app-store or online equivalent.


My system definietly reinforces the authority of eating. Due to the game's subject matter, hunger and thirst or lackthereof shapes the way you play the game. The narrator who directly talks to you reinforces the authority to eat. Over and over again. HUNGRY HUNGRY HARU enables those who love to indulge with food and restricts those who struggle with eating. It depends on how you percieve the game though. The food in HUNGRY HUNGRY HARU can be a variable for anything. Same with hunger.


I'm not sure why I designed 'HUNGRY HUNGRY HARU!' the way I did. I'm pretty sure I stole the name Haru from a studio ghibli movie I recently seen. The hungry part of it all must've been a subconscious feeling whenever I'm at school. Being spoiled by my grandmother with Peruvian cuisine really turns your taste buds into something else; nevertheless, I digress. The inner machinations of my mind are an enigma. Like I said before, I'm not quite sure why I went in the direction I did; however, I hope you find enjoyment in it.







15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Remix

bottom of page